home
About our meetings
Membership
Calendar
Venues
library

National & International Organizations:

ATA-American Tapestry Alliance, www.americantapestryalliance.org
ASG-American Sewing Guild, www.asg.org
CW-Complex Weavers www.complex-weavers.org
HGA-Handweavers Guild of America, www.weavespindye.org
MAFA-Mid Atlantic Fiber Association www.mafafiber.org
NEWS-New England Weaver’s Seminars www.newenglandweavers.org
OIDFA-The International Bobbin and Needle Lace Organization www.oidfa.com
IOLI – The International Organization of Lace, Inc internationalorganizationoflace.org
SDA-Surface Design Association www.surfacedesign.org
WSD-Association of Guilds of Weavers, Spinners, Dyers, United Kingdom www.wsd.org.uk
IFA- International Feltmaker’s Association www.feltmakers.com
Northeast Feltmaker's Guild www.northeastfeltmakersguild.org

Regional Guilds:

Handweavers of Bucks County, PA contact:www.hwbcguild.org
Hudson Mohawk Weavers, Latham, NY www.hudsonmohawkweaversguild.com
Jockey Hollow Weavers www.jockeyhollowweavers.org
New York Guild of Handweavers, NYC www.nyhandweavers.org
North Country Spinners, Blairstown, NJ www.northcountryspinners.com
Northeast Feltmakers Guild www.northeastfeltmakersguild.org
Palisades Guild of Spinners & Handweavers, Saddle River, NJ www.palisadesspinweave.org
South Jersey Guild of Spinners & Handweavers www.sjgsh.net
Textile Study Group of New York, NYC www.tsgny.org
Westfield Weavers, Westfield, NJ www.westfieldweavers.org

Publications:

Complex Weaver’s Journal www.complex-weavers.org
Fiber Art Now fiberartnow.net
Handwoven www.interweave.com/weave/handwoven_magazine
Heddlecraft Magazine www.heddlecraft.com digital
Notions Quarterly publication of the American Sewing Guild www.asg.org/html/magazine.html
Selvedge Magazine www.selvedge.org
Shuttle, Spindle, & Dyepot weavespindye.org/ssd/
The Surface Design Journal surfacedesign.org/journal/about-the-journal/
VävMagasinet www.vavmagasinet.se/
Weaver's Craft www.weaverscraft.com

Favorite Digital Tools to Bookmark on Your Browser:

Tim's Treadle reducer www.cs.earlham.edu/~timm/treadle/index.php
Fiber Burn Chart www.ditzyprints.com/dpburnchart.html
LibraryThing www.librarything.com
Laura Fry's site Tutorials and efficient weaving suggestions www.laurafry.com
www.handweaving.net  A copyright-free archive of more than 58,000 drafts + books by subscription, $4.50 / month or $25 / year
University of Arizona's "Digital Archive of Documents on Weaving and Other Topics" www2.cs.arizona.edu/patterns/weaving/weavedocs.html
Common Yarns Sett Chart: woolery.com/yarns/help-with-yarn-sizes/common-yarns-sett-chart.html
Reed/Sett Substitution Chart schachtspindle.com/pdfs/reed-size-sett-chart.pdf
www.Flickr.com  Search “handweaving” to view lots of projects
Archie Brennan/Susan Martin Maffei www.brennan-maffei.com
Band weaving; site in Swedish www.gewebte-baender.de/galerie.html
Band weaving pattern editor www.raktres.net/seizenn/editor.html

Interweave Press Master Yarn Chart/sett guide www.interweave.com/wp-content/uploads/Master-Yarn-Chart-2014.pdf
Weaving Calculator weavolution.com/weaving-calculator

Digital Communities:

Weavolution www.weavolution.com

Yahoo Groups chats/forums:
-Band_snoddar
-Rug Talk
-Scan Weave
-Tapestry2005
-WeaveTech
-Weaving  

Facebook Groups

Bloggers (a web-based journal, updated regularly)

-Alice Schlein, weaverly.typepad.com
-Daryl Lancaster, www.weaversew.com/wordblog
-Jenny Dean, www.jennydean.co.uk/wordpress
-Laura Fry, laurasloom.blogspot.com
-Sandra Rude, sandrarude.blogspot.com
-Tien Chiu, www.tienchiu.com/category/blog-posts
-Tommye Scanlon, tapestry13.blogspot.com
-Jerri Shankler's Angora Rabbit Spike,www.indigorabbittree.com

Digital/Online Publications:

WeaveZine archives www.weavezine.com
WeaveCast archives (podcasts, like a radio-show broadcast over the Internet) www.weavecast.com/

Local & Regional Places to Study Weaving:

Peter’s Valley Craft Center, Layton, NJ www.petersvalley.org
The Fashion Institute of Technology, NYC www.fitnyc.edu
Red Stone Glen, York County, PA redstoneglen.com
The Spinnery, Frenchtown, NJ spinnery.ajmmobilesolutions.com
Vävstuga, Shelburne Falls, MA www.vavstuga.com
WEBS, Northampton, MA  www.yarn.com

National Places to Study Weaving:

AVL, Chico, CA www.avlusa.com
Española Valley Fiber Arts Center, Española, NM www.evfac.org
Eugene Textile Center www.eugenetextilecenter.com
Fiber Factory, Mesa AZ www.fiberfactory.com
Halcyon Yarn, Bath, ME www.halcyonyarn.com
Harrisville Designs, Harrisville, NH www.harrisville.com
Haystack Mountain School of Crafts, Deer Isle, ME www.haystack-mtn.org
Haywood Community College, Clyde, NC www.haywood.edu
John Campbell Folk School, Brasstown, NC www.folkschool.org
Penland School of Crafts, Penland, NC www.penland.org
Ruthies Weaving Studio, Portland, OR www.ruthiesweavingstudio.iwarp.com
Santa Fe School of Weaving, Santa Fe, NM www.sfschoolofweaving.com
Sievers School of Fiber Arts, Door County, WI www.sieversschool.com
Textile Center of Minnesota Minneapolis, MN www.textilecentermn.org
The Weavers School, Whidbey Island, WA www.weaversschool.com
Yadkin Valley Fiber Room, Yadkinville, NC yadkinvalleyfiberroom.com
Yarn Barn, Lawrence, KS www.yarnbarn-ks.com